Summer School

ICSSA offers an international summer school opportunity for undergraduate and graduate students one week prior to the official conference at Seoul Women’s University this year. During the summer school, students will have an opportunity to hone their research skills and further develop their research papers submitted to ICSSA 2018 with the guidance of a team of seasoned professors from the U.S.A., Austria, and Korea.


  • Learn how to:
    • Conduct research more efficiently
    • Write more effectively
    • Become a better presenter
  • Participate in lectures provided by internationally renowned experts
  • Receive one-on-one mentoring from experienced faculty members
  • Work in small groups to receive and provide peer reviews of your research papers
  • Network in an international environment both with peers and professors
  • Network with industry partners and sponsors



July 23 (Monday) – 25 (Wednesday), 2018



  • Student registration fee for the conference: $100 (Only for attending ICSSA 2018 conference, Authors’ registration fee is $400)
  • Summer school tuition: $300 (includes meals and accommodation at Bahrom Education Building)



  • Food: Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at Bahrom Personality Education Building
  • Housing: Accommodation at Bahrom Personality Education Building



Day 1 (Monday): Grimm-sponsored CTF
Day 2 (Tuesday): Special topic lectures
Day 3 (Wednesday): Special topic lectures & half-day trip

23rd of July 24th of July 25th of July
9:00 – 12:00 Cybersecurity CTF Prof. Jungwoo Ryoo, PSU (Software Security) Prof. Simon Tjoa, FHSTP (TBA)

Dr. Hae Young Lee, DuDu IT (Cyber Ranges)

12:00-13:00 Lunch Lunch Lunch
13:00-17:00 Cybersecurity CTF Prof. Hyoungshick Kim, SKKU (Blockchain and Bitcoin)

Prof. Hyung-Jong Kim, SWU (Information Security Gamification)

(Social Program)

Visiting KISA

Sightseeing the GangNam Area

Dinner at GangNam Area


Prof. Jungwoo Ryoo, Penn State Altoona, U.S.A.
Prof. Simon Tjoa, St. Pölten University of Applied Sciences, Austria
Prof. Hyung-Jong Kim, Seoul Women’s University, Korea
Prof. Hyoungshick Kim, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
Dr. Hae Young Lee, DuDu IT, Korea